Jewish Education Center of Cleveland

Skip to main content

Cleveland Educators to be Honored at the Jewish Education Center’s 27th Annual Celebration May 11, 2021

The Albert B. Ratner and Jack and Esther Goldberg Israel Fellowship, which provides funding for study opportunities in Israel, is given annually to two outstanding teachers, one from a day school and one from a supplementary school.

Rebecca Faur, Art Specialist and 2nd grade Teacher, B’nai Jeshurun Congregation

Rabbi Rick Schindelheim, 7th-12th grade Talmud, Chumash and Jewish History teacher, Fuchs Mizrachi Day School

The Steiger Family Education Grant, is awarded annually to an exceptional day school teacher to cover partial costs of formal Judaic study.

Sora Berger, 7th-12th grade History teacher, Yeshiva Derech Hatorah

The Libbie L. Braverman Award, is a parent-nominated award that recognizes a teacher who has demonstrated dedication and devotion to teaching and has significantly contributed to developing methods or materials to the Jewish teaching profession.

Vicki Teitelbaum, Early childhood educator, Gross Schechter Day School

The Dr. Lifsa Schachter Early Childhood Educator Award recognizes an individual early childhood educator that possesses a professional skill-set and sophisticated understanding of the unique developmental, social, emotional, and educational needs of children, birth to PreK.

Jacqueline Lausin, Jewish Day Nursery

The JEC is pleased to inaugurate the S. Lee Kohrman Award in Jewish Experiential Education. This award recognizes an outstanding experiential or informal “Beyond the Classroom” Jewish educator(s) in the Cleveland Jewish Community. This award is focused on those educational experiences that take place outside of a traditional classroom.

Estee and Yaakov Fleischmann, Co-Directors, Camp Stone


“We congratulate these outstanding educators and the institutions in which they work, for being models of excellence in Jewish learning and impacting the Jewish identities and journeys of learners of all ages,” said Dr. Seymour Kopelowitz, Executive Director of the JEC.